Back test evaluation period limited to 25 years?

Let us know your likes and dislikes, or what you'd like to see next. We listen!

Back test evaluation period limited to 25 years?

Postby PerryB » Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:08 pm

Hello,

I’m new to StrataSearch. When I tried to setup the Setups > Trade Setting, I got an error message: “The Evaluation Period, including Lead-up Days, cannot exceed 25 years”. Why is the Evaluation Period limited to 25 years? I’m using 4.0.921 Beta.

Perry
PerryB

Postby Overload » Thu Oct 30, 2008 10:20 pm

This restriction was originally put in a number of years ago when computers often ran at 750mhz with 512mb of RAM. At that time, such restrictions were necessary to make an automated search run at a reasonable pace, and without overloading a computer.

Computers run much faster now, so we could certainly eliminate this limitation, and we probably will at some point. But we've also learned over the years that an automated search will be much more efficient when it's focused on a specific time period and market rather than a search for everything all at once. For example, running a search for All Securities against a 25 year time frame would be an extremely slow search, and would probably not take advantage of the benefits that come from tracking individual Sectors. On the other hand, by focusing on a more recent time period and limiting the search to a specific sector, one can complete the search quickly and have the freedom to move onto another custom search.