Using our own symbol lists

Questions directed to our Support Team. Responses can be expected within 24 hours.

Using our own symbol lists

Postby mandelmus » Thu Aug 21, 2014 1:26 am

1) The current downloadable "Symbol List" ... http://www.stratasearch.com/symbols.html ... is listed with a "Creation Date" of November 18, 2013. New symbols have been listed since then. If we select "Refresh Symbol and Sector Lists", will the symbol and sector lists be updated with symbols listed since November 18, 2013 or only when an updates are made available?

2) In the "Importing prices from Yahoo AND MSN" thread ... viewtopic.php?p=1950 ... it is mentioned that, "The symbol lists we use come directly from the exchanges, not from Yahoo." I found a link to download symbol lists from NASDAQ, NYSE, & AMEX at http://www.nasdaq.com/screening/company-list.aspx ... I also found historical symbols and data from http://www.premiumdata.net and http://eoddata.com ... Is there a way for us to create our own symbol database (with exchid(), etc.) to replace the default symbol database rather than adding the symbols as custom sectors?


Additional References:
Sector Building Questions ... viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1164&p=5226&hilit=symbol+lists#p5226
Updating Stock List ... viewtopic.php?f=3&t=847&p=3804&hilit=symbol+lists#p3804
mandelmus
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: Using our own symbol lists

Postby Overload » Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:52 am

1) The current downloadable "Symbol List" ... http://www.stratasearch.com/symbols.html ... is listed with a "Creation Date" of November 18, 2013. New symbols have been listed since then. If we select "Refresh Symbol and Sector Lists", will the symbol and sector lists be updated with symbols listed since November 18, 2013 or only when an updates are made available?

No, that menu option will only download the latest from our website into StrataSearch, and those lists have not been updated in awhile. However, I plan to make that a priority and will be refreshing them in the next few weeks.

2) In the "Importing prices from Yahoo AND MSN" thread ... viewtopic.php?p=1950 ... it is mentioned that, "The symbol lists we use come directly from the exchanges, not from Yahoo." I found a link to download symbol lists from NASDAQ, NYSE, & AMEX at http://www.nasdaq.com/screening/company-list.aspx ... I also found historical symbols and data from http://www.premiumdata.net and http://eoddata.com ... Is there a way for us to create our own symbol database (with exchid(), etc.) to replace the default symbol database rather than adding the symbols as custom sectors?

Yahoo does not provide a list of symbols that they support, and that is why the symbol lists need to come from elsewhere. But it is possible to create/update your own symbols lists and maintain them at your own pace, if you are interested. The primary issue is assembling them in the proper format so that they can be used by StrataSearch.

Open the File > Import Prices menu, and then click the Edit button to the right of the Securities selection. This will show you the current symbols list, along with information on how that listing is formatted. You can easily create your own, as long as it is formatted as instructed. Before clicking the Edit button, try changing the name from Symbols.csv to a custom name like MyList.csv, and then click the Edit button. This will open a new symbol list so that you don't have to overlay the StrataSearch version. When rebuilding the symbol lists, a good source is this link:

http://www.nasdaq.com/quotes/#viewdownload

In the upper-right corner of the above page, you'll see a section for Download Security List, where you can download symbols for Nasdaq, Amex and NYSE.

In addition to the formatting, the other minor issue is cleaning the database. There may be many symbols in the above lists that are not supported by Yahoo. This will provide larger numbers of warnings in the Event Viewer that no prices are available. But that is something you can just ignore, unless you want to clean the list yourself.

The larger issue is sectors. Just like the symbols lists, you can create/maintain your own by clicking the Edit button on the File > Import Sectors menu. However, that list can take considerable time to update, and there are few shortcuts. This is primarily the reason that lists are not updated more frequently in StrataSearch. But again, the goal is to update them in the next few weeks.

Yes, you can also use a different pricing service like Premium Data or EOD Data. While your symbol lists might be updated more frequently, it is their sectors that might not be as useful.

Pete
Overload
 
Posts: 2248
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 12:14 pm

Re: Using our own symbol lists

Postby mandelmus » Thu Aug 21, 2014 3:31 pm

1) I am looking at my "symbols.csv" file and noticed that many symbols have the "Exchange" listed as ETF (instead of OTC, NYSE, AMEX). Were those originally coded as "ETF" or did Stratasearch update the exchange to "ETF" after I added a full list of ETF symbols to my custom sectors list?

2) If I add a symbol to the custom sector list (via File > Import Sectors ... > Edit) that is not on the "symbols.csv" file, it appears that Stratasearch won't automatically add the symbol to the symbol database or download data for that symbol. So, do I need to always compare any incoming symbols against the symbol database and then add those that are missing?
mandelmus
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: Using our own symbol lists

Postby Overload » Thu Aug 21, 2014 7:04 pm

1) I am looking at my "symbols.csv" file and noticed that many symbols have the "Exchange" listed as ETF (instead of OTC, NYSE, AMEX). Were those originally coded as "ETF" or did Stratasearch update the exchange to "ETF" after I added a full list of ETF symbols to my custom sectors list?

StrataSearch will not update the symbol lists, except when you run the File > Refresh Symbol and Sector Lists. So it would not have updated the exchange to ETF for you. Those symbols are probably part of the original symbol list that comes with StrataSearch.

2) If I add a symbol to the custom sector list (via File > Import Sectors ... > Edit) that is not on the "symbols.csv" file, it appears that Stratasearch won't automatically add the symbol to the symbol database or download data for that symbol. So, do I need to always compare any incoming symbols against the symbol database and then add those that are missing?

Add your symbols to the symbol import. That happens first. If the symbols happen to exit in StrataSearch, they can then be added to a sector. So, yes, your symbols must be specified in both places.

Pete
Overload
 
Posts: 2248
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 12:14 pm

Re: Using our own symbol lists

Postby mandelmus » Sat Aug 23, 2014 4:17 am

Found one of my older related threads ... viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1071
mandelmus
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:51 pm


Return to Technical Support

cron