TDAmeritrade as a data source

Questions directed to our Support Team. Responses can be expected within 24 hours.

TDAmeritrade as a data source

Postby mandelmus » Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:27 am

I've been able to use TDAmeritrade as my data source for XLQ ... http://www.qmatix.com/XLQ.htm ... for several years. Is there any way to use TDAmeritrade as my data source for Stratasearch?
mandelmus
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: TDAmeritrade as a data source

Postby Overload » Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:29 pm

I'm not familiar with the prices that TD Ameritrade provides, but there isn't a direct interface between StrataSearch and TD Ameritrade. However, you can check to see whether it is possible to download EOD prices in either an ASCII/CSV format or the common MetaStock file format to your hard drive. If so, you would be able to import those prices into StrataSearch from there.

Pete
Overload
 
Posts: 2247
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 12:14 pm

Re: TDAmeritrade as a data source

Postby mandelmus » Sat Aug 16, 2014 5:10 am

XLQ streams the data from TDAmeritrade using username and password access, so no "manual downloading" needed. Downloading ASCII/CSV would take way too long for 8,000+ symbols. Please consider looking into this as an option.
mandelmus
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: TDAmeritrade as a data source

Postby Overload » Sat Aug 16, 2014 1:20 pm

Actually, prices are downloaded from Yahoo Finance in ASCII/CSV format and it happens pretty quickly. It might be worth checking if there is a way to do it, or if there is a 3rd party package that can be used. But I will put this on the list as a possible future enhancement.

Pete
Overload
 
Posts: 2247
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 12:14 pm


Return to Technical Support

cron